Women's Volleyball

Women's volleyball team dominates all-conference selections

Women's volleyball team dominates all-conference selections

After winning their fourth Orange Empire Conference championship over the last five seasons, the Irvine Valley Women's Volleyball team was awarded with the bulk of the all-conference honors.

IVC's Ryan Windisch was named 2022 OEC Coach of the Year in his second season at the helm. The alumnus took over for former head coach Pestolesi, who spent 21 seasons with the Lasers, in 2021 and has maintained the program's high standards.

The Lasers also saw sophomore opposite Jayli Nealy and freshman outside hitter Tessa Marocco earn Co-MVP honors as they led their team to a record of 15-1 in conference play.

Nealy finished the year ranked third in the OEC in kills with 334 while adding 61 total blocks, good for fifth on the OEC leaderboard. Marocco was close behind in the kills category, recording the fourth highest total at 314. The freshman also contributed with 187 digs, 26 total blocks and 20 service aces.

In addition, Irvine Valley had five more players land on all-conference teams with sophomore libero and outside hitter Gabi Brown, sophomore middle blocker Kendall Fraser, sophomore setter Maddie Harkey, freshman middle blocker Avery Bennett and sophomore opposite Chloe Swanson earning spots.

Brown, Fraser and Harkey were each named first team, while Bennett and Swanson were picked to the second team.

The full list can be seen below.



2022 OEC VOLLEYBALL CO-MVP: Jayli Nealy and Tessa Marocco


Gabi Brown (Irvine Valley)

Kendall Fraser (Irvine Valley)

Maddie Harkey (Irvine Valley)

Paige Curtwright (Orange Coast)

Emily Payne (Orange Coast)

Matilde Teixeira (Santa Ana)

Ines Lopes (Santa Ana)

Shayna Martinez (Cypress)

Adriana Morales (Golden West)

Sydney Brown (Saddleback)

Anne Mayfield (Fullerton)

Maggie Aburto (Riverside City)

Paige Schiefelbein (Santiago Canyon)


Avery Bennett (Irvine Valley)

Chloe Swanson (Irvine Valley)

Brisa Zapata-Reaves (Orange Coast)

Grace Holmgren (Orange Coast)

Alison Caldwell (Santa Ana)

Kaiden Raif (Santa Ana)

Zoe Munn (Cypress)

Katie Griffin (Golden West)

Lilyann Horner (Saddleback)

Mareta Poe (Fullerton)

Jessica Lepe (Riverside City)

Christine Goff (Santiago Canyon)

Irvine Valley College provides this web space for the use of its faculty, staff and other representatives of the college for the purpose of furthering the educational goals of the institution and enhancing the academic experience of its students. This is the official web site of Irvine Valley College Athletics. The data, statistics, photos, rosters and schedules used on this web site were gathered by the IVC Sports Information Office. Other web sites containing information about Irvine Valley College Athletics not within the official college web site may not be accurate. Questions or comments about this web site can be directed to bshaver@ivc.edu

View: Mobile | Desktop