Women's Beach Volleyball

Ka'awaloa and Fitzgerald earn women's beach volleyball honors

Ka'awaloa and Fitzgerald earn women's beach volleyball honors

Irvine Valley women's beach volleyball pair of sophomore Lucee Fitzgerald and freshman Taira Ka'awaloa were named first team all-Orange Empire Conference last week.

The duo played No. 1 for the Lasers all season and reached the OEC Championship Final before losing to Riverside's Marissa Vialpando and Lauren Wells in a tough final at the Newland Street Courts in Huntington Beach.

Irvine Valley had two other teams earn second team recognition. They were the teams of sophomore Alissa Blevins and freshman Ally Sassman and sophomore Brittany Tuliau and freshman Jacqueline Millerd.

Irvine Valley ended up finishing tied for fourth in the final conference standings with a record of 4-3.

Vialpando and Wells were named the most valuable players of the OEC after capturing the conference's pairs title.

The duo also helped RCC finish third in the conference standings and make the regional playoffs. The top three teams from the conference - Cypress, Golden West and Riverside - moved on.

Nancy Welliver of Cypress and Bill Lawler of Golden West were named the conference's co-coaches of the year after the Chargers and Rustlers shared the conference title.

Each team finished with a record of 6-1. Golden West knocked off Cypress in one of the final matches of the regular season to earn a share of the title.

Golden West had two teams named to the conference first team. The pairs of Jasmine Gonzalez and Kate Stanjevich and Baileigh Graham and Amanda Sosa earned honors.

Also earning all-conference honors were the Cypress pair of Paulina Akiona and Rockelle Gholson, IVC's pair of Ka'awaloa and Fitzgerald, the Fullerton duo of Leslie Andros and Charity Dennis and the Santa Ana pair of Viridiana Serrano and Mikelle Taylor.

2017 Orange Empire Conference Women's Beach Volleyball Awards

MVP Team

Marissa Vialpando/Lauren Wells - Riverside

Co-Coaches of the Year

Nancy Welliver - Cypress

Bill Lawler - Golden West

1st Team all-OEC

Paulina Akiona/Rockelle Gholson - Cypress

Leslie Andros/Charity Dennis - Fullerton

Lucee Fitzgerald/Taira Ka'awaloa - Irvine Valley

Jadelyn Forgiarini/Megan Ritchie - Orange Coast

Jasmine Gonzalez/Kate Stanjevich - Golden West

Baileigh Graham/Amanda Sosa - Golden West

Viridiana Serrano/Mikelle Taylor - Santa Ana

Second Team all-OEC

Ashleigh Atsaros/Erica Cantley - Golden West

Alissa Blevins/ Ally Sassman - Irvine Valley

Paige Buchanan/Samantha Madrid - Cypress

Brianna Johnson/Emily Witz - Cypress

Sierra Lim/Measha Lindstrand - Orange Coast

Jacqueline Millerd/Brittany Tuliau - Irvine Valley

Kassandra Murillo/Haylie Slater - Santa Ana

Huafa Saulala/Marcella Rodriquez - Riverside

Irvine Valley College provides this web space for the use of its faculty, staff and other representatives of the college for the purpose of furthering the educational goals of the institution and enhancing the academic experience of its students. This is the official web site of Irvine Valley College Athletics. The data, statistics, photos, rosters and schedules used on this web site were gathered by the IVC Sports Information Office. Other web sites containing information about Irvine Valley College Athletics not within the official college web site may not be accurate. Questions or comments about this web site can be directed to bshaver@ivc.edu

View: Mobile | Desktop